Updated October 22, 2026
Canadian frequent travellers may finally be getting a Hilton Honors co-branded credit card. Yesterday, I mentioned a few seconds-long teaser video from Amex Canada on Instagram in the flash post “🇨🇦 Is Amex up to something? A new card may be coming.” Today, I saw someone post the card details in a forum and looked into them myself. They seem credible, so I’m covering them here.
PerkFox observed the full card record for the Canadian version of the Hilton Honors American Express Card in the content management system (CMS) on Hilton’s official website. Hilton’s backend data lists Canada among the co-branded card markets, alongside China (see Hilton’s ongoing move to launch its first co-branded card in China through Bank of Communications).

According to data returned by Hilton’s official GraphQL API, the card is currently planned with a $150 annual fee, up to 70,000 Hilton Honors points plus one Free Night Reward, and complimentary Hilton Honors Gold status.
One important caveat: as of October 22, 2026, this Canadian card has not been officially announced. This article covers pre-release data already present on Hilton’s official servers, not final application terms. The benefits, fees, and welcome offer may still change.

Image source: Hilton’s official servers.
1. Canadian Hilton Honors Amex: Key Details
Here is the card information currently available in Hilton’s official CMS:
| Item | Information currently disclosed |
|---|---|
| Card name | Hilton Honors American Express Card |
| Market | Canada |
| Annual fee | $150 |
| Welcome offer | Up to 70,000 Hilton Honors points + 1 Free Night Reward |
| Minimum spend | $3,000 in the first 3 months |
| Automatic hotel status | Hilton Honors Gold |
| Hilton hotel purchases | 6X points |
| Restaurants, gas stations, and grocery stores in Canada | 4X points |
| Other eligible purchases | 2X points |
| $12,000 in annual spending | 50,000 additional Hilton Honors points |
| $40,000 in annual spending | Upgrade to Hilton Honors Diamond status |
| Other benefit | National Car Rental Emerald Club Executive status |
Note: The CMS does not specify a currency code for the amounts above. At this stage, we cannot confirm that the annual fee and spending requirements are all in Canadian dollars.
2. Welcome Offer: Up to 70,000 Points + a Free Night Reward
Hilton’s official database currently lists this welcome offer:
Earn up to 70,000 Bonus Points and a Free Night Reward after you spend $3,000 in eligible purchases on your Card in the first 3 months of Card Membership.
Based on this description, new cardholders who spend $3,000 on eligible purchases in the first three months after opening the account would receive:
- Up to 70,000 Hilton Honors Bonus Points
- One Hilton Free Night Reward
For travellers who regularly stay at Hilton, Conrad, Waldorf Astoria, and other Hilton brands, the combination of points and a Free Night Reward could be attractive.
However, the CMS says “up to 70,000,” not simply “70,000.” We will need the full application terms to learn whether the bonus is split into stages or subject to other restrictions.
The CMS also shows an offer end date of 11/01/27. Its exact meaning and whether it will remain valid have not been confirmed, so do not treat it as a firm application deadline yet.
3. Everyday Earning: 6X / 4X / 2X
The pre-release data shows three earning rates for the Canadian Hilton Amex:
| Purchase category | Hilton Honors points |
|---|---|
| Purchases made directly with Hilton hotels and resorts | 6 points per $1 |
| Restaurants in Canada | 4 points per $1 |
| Gas stations in Canada | 4 points per $1 |
| Grocery stores in Canada | 4 points per $1 |
| Other eligible purchases | 2 points per $1 |
The 4X categories are specifically limited to restaurants, gas stations, and grocery stores in Canada. The CMS data does not yet explain which merchants qualify for each category, how purchases outside Canada will earn points, or whether there will be earning caps.
Also, credit card points earned on Hilton purchases and points earned through the Hilton Honors loyalty programme for the hotel stay are separate earning mechanisms. The final terms will need to confirm how they combine.
4. Complimentary Hilton Honors Gold Status
Hotel status is one of the card’s most notable benefits. Hilton’s official data lists this under Built-In Benefits:
Complimentary Gold Status
Under the current product design, cardholders would receive Hilton Honors Gold status without having to complete the stays normally required to qualify. For frequent Hilton guests, Gold can mean more than bonus points; eligible stays may also include breakfast or a food-and-beverage benefit, room upgrades, and other perks.
Hilton has not yet disclosed when Gold status would take effect or what would happen to it if the card were closed.
5. Annual Spending Bonuses: 50,000 Points After $12,000
Hilton has planned two annual spending benefits for the Canadian card.
- Spend $12,000 in a calendar year: earn an extra 50,000 points
The official CMS wording is:
Earn 50,000 Hilton Honors Points after spending $12,000 in eligible purchases on your Card in a calendar year.
In other words, spending $12,000 on eligible purchases with the card in a calendar year would earn an extra 50,000 Hilton Honors points. This is a threshold bonus, separate from the points earned on the purchases themselves. It is 50,000 points, not an additional Free Night Reward.
- Spend $40,000 in a calendar year: upgrade to Diamond status
Cardholders who spend $40,000 in eligible purchases in a calendar year would also be upgraded to Hilton Honors Diamond status. Hilton’s CMS says the Diamond status would remain in place until the end of the following calendar year.
The full terms will need to clarify whether the annual spending benefits can stack, how the spending period is tracked, and when the bonuses are credited.
6. National Car Rental Emerald Club Executive Status
In addition to Hilton Honors status, Hilton’s data lists a rental car benefit:
National Car Rental Emerald Club Executive Status
The current description says cardholders can receive National Car Rental Emerald Club Executive status and use the corresponding membership benefits when renting from National in the United States and Canada. This benefit would not activate automatically; cardholders would need to enrol through their American Express online account.
7. How Does It Compare With U.S. Hilton Amex Cards?
The U.S. market already has several co-branded cards, including the Hilton Honors Card, Surpass, and Aspire. This Canadian card uses a different structure for its annual fee, earning rates, and spending bonuses.
For example, the U.S. Hilton Honors Surpass Card currently earns 12X points on Hilton purchases, 6X on select categories such as U.S. restaurants and gas stations, and 3X on other eligible purchases.
The Canadian card’s pre-release rates are 6X / 4X / 2X.
The earning rates alone do not tell you which card is better. You also need to consider each country’s spending categories, the value you can get from the points, hotel benefits, the annual fee, and other perks. In particular, do not assume the Canadian card will include U.S. Surpass benefits such as Hilton statement credits, no foreign transaction fees, or an annual Free Night Reward. Hilton’s Canadian CMS record does not clearly list those benefits.
8. When Will the Canadian Hilton Honors Amex Launch? Can You Apply Now?
There is no confirmed launch date or working Canada-specific application page. Hilton’s official website does, however, have several notable technical indicators:
- The site’s build manifest already includes a Canada-specific card route:
/hilton-honors/credit-cards/canada-card. - Hilton has set up English and French pages for Canada.
- Hilton’s official image server has a dedicated card image for the Canadian Hilton Amex.
- When the Hilton GraphQL API is queried with the
en-CAlanguage parameter, it returns a separate Canadian card record with the full welcome offer, annual fee, earning rates, and benefits.
In the CMS, the Apply Now and Offer Terms links still point to the general credit card page rather than a Canada-specific application page. This shows that product content is in Hilton’s official system, but it does not confirm that an application page or final terms are ready. The presence of backend data alone does not mean the card is open for applications or that a launch date is set.
9. Frequently Asked Questions
Is Hilton really launching a Hilton Honors American Express Card in Canada?
Hilton’s official CMS does contain a Canada-specific card record, including a card image, annual fee, welcome offer, and benefits. This is notable first-party information, but it is not the same as a formal card announcement.
What will the Canadian Hilton Amex annual fee be?
The pre-release data lists a $150 annual fee, but does not specify a currency code. Wait for the official announcement for the final fee.
What is the welcome offer on the Canadian Hilton Amex?
The current record lists up to 70,000 Hilton Honors points plus one Free Night Reward after spending $3,000 in the first three months.
Will the Canadian Hilton Amex include Gold status?
Yes. The current CMS record explicitly lists Complimentary Gold Status. The rules for cardholders still need to be confirmed in the final terms.
Will the card have no foreign transaction fees?
There is no clear evidence of that so far, so it cannot be confirmed. Some U.S. Hilton Amex cards have this benefit, but that does not mean the Canadian version will.
Can I apply for the Canadian Hilton Amex now?
As of the article’s update date, we have not found an official Canada-specific application page.
10. A Canadian Hilton Honors Card Worth Watching
For Hilton Honors members in Canada, this upcoming co-branded card is worth watching. Based on the information currently disclosed in Hilton’s official CMS, its main features are:
- Up to 70,000 Hilton Honors points plus a Free Night Reward as the welcome offer
- A $150 annual fee
- Complimentary Hilton Honors Gold status
- 6X points on Hilton purchases and 4X at Canadian restaurants, gas stations, and grocery stores
- An extra 50,000 points after $12,000 in annual spending
- Diamond status after $40,000 in annual spending
The combination of automatic Gold status and an extra 50,000 points at the annual spending threshold could appeal to Canadians who already have Hilton stays planned. Before deciding whether the annual fee is worthwhile, wait for the final terms and consider how you value Hilton points, your spending categories, other cards’ benefits, and your actual hotel plans.
PerkFox will continue to follow official updates from Hilton and American Express and update this article when the card is formally announced.
Sources and Notes
This article is based on creditCardOffers data retrieved on October 22, 2026, from a publicly accessible GraphQL interface on Hilton’s official website. The query used the Canadian English language parameter, en-CA.
Main sources:
- Hilton Honors official credit card page
- Hilton’s Canada-specific credit card page path (not public as of the article’s update date)
- Hilton’s official image of the Canadian credit card
Disclaimer: This article covers a credit card that has not been officially released. All pre-release information may change. It is not an invitation to apply or a guarantee of any reward.



Comments
Comments from a new email are reviewed before they appear.